100 Degrees of Brazil

100 days project

DAY 43. Auresnede Pires Stephan (Prof. Eddy)

eddy

Business Consultant and Professor.

__________________ 

English: 

Auresnede Pires Stephan (Prof. Eddy) is a university professor and a consultant on projects, curator and coordinator of design awards and shows.

__________________ 

What is your impression about a brand called Brazil?

What would be the “Brazil Brand” … one more  image

to sell … products … culture…..art….., and even design.

Well, in this great challenge, let’s hear our poets and

lyricists, who knows if it will not be in their metaphors

possible reflections to begin a dialogue on

this universe so complex that we could call

Brasilidade (Brazilianity)!!

Let’s start with Ari Barroso, that through this vainglorious Aquarela do Brasil takes us to an imaginary real country.

“Brazil, my Brazilian Brazil

My intriguer “mulato”

[…]

Brazil of my love

The land of our Lord

To me!

[…]

Ô! Open the curtain of the past

Take  the black mother out of  the Cerrado*1

Put the Congo King in the Congado*2

[…]

I want to see this Lady walking

Dragging through the saloons

Her lace dress.

To me!

[…]

Oh! This coconut tree that gives coconut

Where I tie my hammock

On clear moonlit nights

Ô! This gorgeous and brunette Brazil

Is my Brazilian Brazil

The land of samba and tambourine….”

*1 Cerrado: a vast tropical savanna ecoregion of Brazil

*2 Congado: an Afro-Brazilian cultural/religious ritual

The letter of Brazil’s National Anthem…

[…]

A giant by thine own nature,

thou art a beautiful, strong and intrepid colossus,

and thy future mirrors thy greatness.

[…]

Eternally lying in a splendid cradle,

by the sound of the sea and the light of the deep sky,

thou shinest, O Brazil, garland of America,

illuminated by the sun of the New World!

 

Deixa a vida Me Levar (Let Life Take Me) by Zeca Pagodinho

I’ve been through almost everything in this life

In terms of material wealth,

I’m still waiting for my turn

I confess that I am from a poor background

But my heart is noble,

that’s how God made ​​me

[…]

I can only raise my hands to the sky

Appreciate and be faithful

To the destiny that God has given me

If I don’t have everything that I need

With what I have, I live

Carefully I carry on

[…]

And let life take me (Life takes me!)

And let life take me (Life takes me!)

And by Cazuza…Brazil Show Your Face (Brasil mostra tua cara)

Brazil

Show up your face

I wanna see who will pay

For us to be like this

Brazil

And so we can open a dialogue through a synthesis of the metaphors described above:

“We need to open the curtains of the past, trying to know where we should tie our hammock, because so far we are lying in the splendid cradle, confessing that we are poor, not having what we need, anyway thanking and lifting hands to the heavens … and letting life take me … and leading everyone to an uncertain fate”.

And maybe from the briefing above we can start an anthropological and conceptual reflection, where all Brazilian citizens assume their actual responsibilities facing the challenges inherent that will be the construction of a “country of the future”.

And here is a questioning of the late anthropologist Darcy Ribeiro:

” For many years we have been in the condition of the Xavante Indians that, once they have learned to use steel axes, could no longer dispense them and found themselves tied to their suppliers. We are falling again into the risk of subordination, represented by reliance on standards and on imported know-how”.

I wonder who is paying for that!!!

 __________________

– português

Sobre Auresnede Pires Stephan (Prof. Eddy):

Auresnede Pires Stephan (prof. Eddy) é professor universitário e atua como consultor em projetos, curador e coordenador de prêmios e mostras de design.

__________________

Qual é a sua impressão de uma marca chamada Brasil?

O que seria a Marca Brasil? Mais uma imagem para vender produtos, cultura, arte….e até design?

Bem, neste enorme desafio, vamos ouvir nossos poetas e letristas, quem sabe não estarão em suas metáforas possíveis reflexões para iniciarmos um diálogo sobre este universo tão complexo que poderíamos denominar brasilidade!!

Comecemos com Ari Barroso que, através da ufanista Aquarela do Brasil, leva-nos a um país imaginário e , ao mesmo tempo, verdadeiro:

“Brasil, meu Brasil brasileiro

Meu mulato inzoneiro

[…]

Ô Brasil, do meu amor

Terra de Nosso Senhor

Brasil, Brasil,

Pra mim, pra mim

[…]

Ah,  abre a cortina do passado

Tira a Mãe Preta do cerrado

Bota o Rei Congo no congado

[…]

Quero ver essa Dona caminhando

Pelos salões arrastando

O seu vestido rendado

Brasil, Brasil,

Pra mim, pra mim

[…]

Oh, esse coqueiro que dá coco

Onde eu amarro a minha rede

Nas noites claras de luar

[…]

Ah, esse Brasil lindo e trigueiro

É o meu Brasil brasileiro

Terra de samba e pandeiro….”

A letra do seu Hino Nacional oficial…

[…]

Gigante pela própria natureza

És belo, és forte, impávido colosso

E o teu futuro espelha essa grandeza.

[…]

Deitado eternamente em berço esplêndido,

Ao som do mar e à luz do céu profundo,

Fulguras, ó Brasil, florão da América

Iluminado ao sol do novo mundo!

[…]

Deixa a vida me levar…Zeca Pagodinho

Eu já passei  por quase tudo nessa vida

Em matéria de guarida espero ainda a minha vez

Confesso que sou de origem pobre

Mas meu coração é nobre, f oi assim que Deus me fez

[…]

Só posso levantar

As mãos pro céu agradecer e ser fiel

Ao destino que Deus me deu

Se não tenho tudo que preciso

Com o que tenho, vivo

De mansinho lá vou eu

[…]

E deixa a vida me levar (vida leva eu)

Deixa a vida me levar (vida leva eu)

 

E de Cazuza…Brasil mostra tua cara.

Brasil!

Mostra tua cara

Quero ver quem paga

Pra gente ficar assim.

Brasil!

E, assim, podemos abrir um diálogo através de uma síntese das metáforas acima descritas:

Precisamos abrir as cortinas do passado, procurando saber onde devemos amarrar a nossa rede, pois até o presente momento estamos deitados em berço esplêndido, confessando que somos pobres, não tendo o que precisamos, no entanto agradecendo e levantando as mãos para os céus, deixando a vida levar e levando todos para um destino incerto.

Quem sabe, a partir do briefing acima, possamos iniciar uma reflexão antropológica e conceitual, quando todos os cidadãos brasileiros assumam suas reais responsabilidades diante do desafio inerente que será a construção de um “país do futuro”.

Encerro com um questionamento do falecido antropólogo Darcy Ribeiro:

“Por muitos anos estivemos na condição dos índios xavantes, que, ao aprenderem a utilizar machados de aço, não mais puderam prescindir deles e se viram atados a seus fornecedores.

Estamos novamente caindo no risco de subordinação, representada pela dependência de normas e de saber técnico importado.”

Quem será que está pagando?!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 25, 2013 by in Brazilians and tagged , , , , , , , .

Top 10

