100 Degrees of Brazil

100 days project

DAY 46. Ken Carbone

photo

Designer, Artist, Musician, Author and Teacher.

__________________ 

English: 

 

Ken Carbone is a designer, artist, musician, author and teacher. As the Co-Founder and Chief Creative Director of the Carbone Smolan Agency, he is among America’s most respected graphic designers, whose work is renowned for its balance of substance and style.

Under his design ethos to unify, simplify, amplify, Ken has built a reputation for creating outstanding design programs for a world-class clientele that includes W Hotels, Morgan Stanley, Christie’s, Tiffany & Co., Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group, and Canon U.S.A., and celebrated institutions such as the Museum of Modern Art, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Natural History Museum of Los Angeles, and the Musée du Louvre.

Ken is the author of The Virtuoso: Face to Face with 40 Extraordinary Talents, published by Stewart Tabori & Chang. The book’s emphasis on human achievement in all walks of life reflects his wide-ranging curiosity. He is also the co-author of “Dialog”: What Makes a Great Design Partnership, a book that celebrates his 35-year collaboration with business partner Leslie Smolan. Ken frequently speaks to audiences across the country about the value of strategic design and communications in the corporate, consumer and cultural sectors, and has lectured at both business schools and art colleges. Ken is a professor in the MFA program at the School of Visual Arts in New York City, and is a featured blogger for Fast Company magazine.

A member of the prestigious Alliance Graphique International (AGI) and the AIGA, the professional association for design, Ken’s work has been recognized by the AIGA, Print, Graphis, Idea, Communication Arts, ID, the New York Art Directors Club, and he is a recipient of the Visionaries! Award from the Museum of Arts & Design. Ken is also an accomplished guitarist and says he might give it all up one day to play with Norah Jones.

__________________ 

What is your impression about a brand called Brazil?

Brazil is such a fascinating and multi dimensional country. To some, Brazilian coffee might be their connection, to sports fans it might be soccer and for others the association could be a popular form of bikini waxing. However, for me it is the music.

I have a deep fondness for Brazilian music, especially the samba. Antonio Carlos Jobim is an idol and his music is iconic. Others like Caetano Veloso, Gilberto Gil and Bebel Gilberto all figure prominently in the way they communicate the Brazilian spirit to me through their music. As a guitarist, I love playing Jobim’s compositions. My limited knowledge of Portuguese comes from these songs. The melodies and lyrics embrace a confident simplicity and have offered countless interpretations by legendary musicians for decades.

To me life should be like a samba, the perfect union of rhythm and sensuality.

I have never been to Brazil but it beckons me in so many ways. Back in the late 90’s I had the rare pleasure of meeting Pele when I interviewed him for my book “The Virtuoso.” I still have the soccer ball he signed for me. Early in my career I designed a poster for an IBM conference in Rio. I chose to feature a digital looking image of the famed Sugar Loaf mountain that dominates the landscape of Rio de Janiero. Currently, we are working on a project in the Dominican Republic. It is an eco-resort development called “Tropicalia.” This name is derived from the art and pop culture movement in Brazil during the 1960’s.

And, I have friends who live in Florianopolis!

I don’t necessarily see Brazil as a “brand” as this seems to associate a certain commercial dimension to it that I feel compromises it’s rich, world renown culture.

My impression is that it is a country that beautiful, wild and full of energy. I’m certain that this is fueling its current economic growth. Brazil has been on the world stage as a sports capital many times in the World Cup. It seems ideal that it will be hosting the 2016 Summer Olympics. I will certainly be tuning in for the sports AND the music.

Poster for an IBM conference in Brazil featuring an illustration of the “Sugarloaf” mountain in Rio de Janeiro.

ibm-poster 

__________________

– português

Sobre Ken Carbone:

Ken Carbone é designer, artista, músico, autor e professor. Como  Co-fundador e Diretor Criativo da Agência Carbone Smolan, ele está entre os mais respeitados designers gráficos dos Estados Unidos, cujo trabalho é reconhecido por seu equilíbrio de essência e estilo.

Sob seu ethos de projeto para unificar, simplificar, amplificar, Ken tem construído uma reputação por criar excelentes programas de design para uma clientela de classe mundial que inclui W Hotels, Morgan Stanley, Christie’s, Tiffany & Co, Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group e Canon U.S.A., além de célebres instituições como o Museu de Arte Moderna, a Orquestra Sinfônica de Chicago, o Museu de História Natural de Los Angeles e o Museu do Louvre.

Ken é o autor do livro “The Virtuoso: Face to Face with 40 Extraordinary Talents” (Cara a Cara Com 40 Talentos Extraordinários), publicado por Stewart Tabori & Chang. A ênfase do livro na realização humana em todos os aspectos da vida reflete sua ampla curiosidade. Ele também é co-autor de “Dialog”: What Makes a Great Design Partnership (“Diálogo: O Que Faz Uma Grande Parceria de Design”), um livro que celebra a sua colaboração de 35 anos com a parceira de negócios Leslie Smolan. Ken freqüentemente faz palestras em todo o país sobre o valor do design estratégico e da comunicação nos setores corporativo, de consumo e cultural, e tem lecionado tanto em escolas de negócios quanto em faculdades de arte. Ken é professor do programa do MFA na Escola de Artes Visuais em Nova York e é um blogueiro de destaque da revista Fast Company.

Membro da prestigiada Alliance Graphique International (AGI) e da AIGA, a associação profissional de design, o trabalho de Ken tem sido reconhecido pela AIGA, Print, Graphis, Idea, Communication Arts, ID, pelo Clube dos Diretores de Arte de Nova York, e ele recebeu um  Visionaries Award, prêmio do Museu de Arts & Design. Ken também é um talentoso guitarrista e ele diz que, um dia,  pode abrir mão de tudo para tocar com Norah Jones.

__________________

Qual é a sua impressão de uma marca chamada Brasil?

O Brasil é um país fascinante e multi-dimensional. Para alguns, o café brasileiro pode ser sua conexão com o país, para os fãs de esportes poderia ser o futebol e para outros a associação pode ser uma forma popular de depilação. Contudo, para mim é a música.

Eu tenho um profundo carinho pela música brasileira, especialmente pelo samba. Antonio Carlos Jobim é um ídolo e sua música é icônica. Outros, como Caetano Veloso, Gilberto Gil e Bebel Gilberto figuram proeminentes na maneira como comunicam o espírito brasileiro para mim através de sua música. Como guitarrista, eu amo tocar as composições de Jobim. Meu conhecimento limitado da língua portuguesa vem destas canções. As melodias e letras envolvem uma simplicidade confiante e têm oferecido  inúmeras interpretações por músicos lendários ao longo de décadas.

Para mim, a vida deveria ser como um samba, a união perfeita entre ritmo e sensualidade.

Eu nunca fui ao Brasil, mas ele me atrai de muitas maneiras. No final dos anos 90 tive o raro prazer de conhecer Pelé, quando eu o entrevistei para o meu livro “The Virtuoso”. Eu ainda tenho a bola de futebol que ele assinou para mim. No início de minha carreira, eu projetei um cartaz para uma conferência da IBM no Rio de Janeiro. Eu escolhi apresentar uma imagem com aparência digital do famoso morro do Pão de Açúcar que domina a paisagem do Rio de Janeiro. Atualmente, estamos trabalhando em um projeto na República Dominicana. É um desenvolvimento de eco-resort chamado “Tropicália”. Este nome é derivado do movimento da arte e da cultura pop no Brasil durante a década de 1960.

E, eu tenho amigos que moram em Florianópolis!

Eu não necessariamente vejo Brasil como uma marca, como associado a uma certa dimensão comercial que sinto que compromete a sua rica e renomada cultura pelo mundo.

Minha impressão é que é um país muito belo, selvagem e cheio de energia. Estou certo de que isso está alimentando seu crescimento econômico atual. O Brasil tem sido, no cenário mundial, como a capital dos esportes muitas vezes na Copa do Mundo. Parece ideal que ele estará recebendo os Jogos Olímpicos de Verão de 2016. Eu certamente estarei sintonizado nos esportes E na música.

ibm-poster

Poster para uma conferência da IBM no Brasil, com uma ilustração do morro do “Pão de Açúcar” no Rio de Janeiro.

Leave a Reply

Top 10

