100 Degrees of Brazil

100 days project

DAY 99. Debbie Millman

debbie-millman

President of the design division at Sterling Brands, professor and author.

__________________ 

English: 

Debbie Millman has worked in the design business for over 25 years. She is President of the design division at Sterling Brands. She has been there for 17 years and in that time she has worked on the redesign of over 200 global brands.

Debbie is President Emeritus of the AIGA, the largest professional association for design. She is a contributing editor at Print Magazine, a design writer at FastCompany.com and Chair of the Masters in Branding Program at the School of Visual Arts in New York City. In 2005, she began hosting the first weekly radio talk show about design on the Internet. The show is titled “Design Matters with Debbie Millman” and it is now featured on DesignObserver.com. In 2011, the show was awarded a Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award.

Debbie is the author of five books on design including “Brand Thinking and Other Noble Pursuits,” (Allworth Press, 2011), “Look Both Ways: Illustrated Essays on the Intersection of Life and Design,” (HOW Books, 2009) and “How To Think Like A Great Graphic Designer” (Allworth Press, 2007).

__________________ 

What is your impression about a brand called Brazil?

Having not ever been to Brazil, my impressions of the “Brazil brand” have been culturally self-constructed. I am aware the many cliched associations of the brand: the beachy environs, the very specific, scary bikini wax, the myriad stories of debauchery during Spring Break. But for me, the brand of Brazil takes me back to 2005 when I had my heart broken into a million pieces. In an effort to cheer me up, my best friend Sue set me up on a blind date with an ex-Pat friend of her then-boyfriend. Michael was from San Paolo and was visiting for a few weeks. He was an American businessman who had made a life for himself abroad. After an afternoon of sushi and saki, he boldly invited me to visit him when he went back home. I wasn’t attracted to him but I felt unlovable and lonely. I told him yes, but requested separate bedrooms. He kindly complied and I applied for a rush Visa, purchased an outrageously expensive plane ticket and went on a desperation diet. But the day before I was set to leave, I changed my mind. I was afraid I was going for the wrong reasons and couldn’t bring myself to take advantage of Michael’s generosity, no matter how low his expectations might be. I remember calling him early in the morning, and I could hear the bustling business world behind him. He sounded so happy to hear from me and then so sad. Later that day, I examined my Brazilian Visa and wondered if I would ever get a chance to visit again. I haven’t, so far.

__________________

Português:

Debbie Millman trabalha no ramo de design há mais de 25 anos. Ela é presidente da divisão de design na Sterling Brands. Ela está lá há 17 anos e nesse tempo ela trabalhou no redesenho de mais de 200 marcas globais.

Debbie é Presidente Emérito da AIGA, a maior associação profissional de design. Ela também é uma editora colaboradora na Print Magazine, e uma escritora sobre design na FastCompany.com além disso ela preside o Mestrado em Branding na Escola de Artes Visuais (School of Visual Arts) em Nova York. Em 2005, ela começou a apresentar o primeiro talk show semanal do rádio sobre design na Internet. O show é intitulado “Design Matters with Debbie Millman” e agora é exibido no DesignObserver.com. Em 2011, o show foi premiado com o Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award.

Debbie é autora de cinco livros sobre design, incluindo “Brand Thinking and Other Noble Pursuits” – Allworth Press, 2011), “Look Both Ways: Illustrated Essays on the Intersection of Life and Design,” – HOW Books, 2009) e “How To Think Like A Great Graphic Designer” – Allworth Press, 2007).

__________________ 

Qual é a sua impressão de uma marca chamada Brasil?

Por não ter ido ao Brasil nehuma vez, minhas impressões sobre a “marca Brasil” foram culturalmente auto-construídas. Estou ciente sobre as muitas associações clichê da marca: os ambientes praianos, a muito específica e assustadora depilação da virilha, a miríade de histórias de depravação durante as férias. Mas, para mim, a marca do Brasil, me leva de volta à 2005, quando eu tive meu coração partido em mil pedaços. Em um esforço para me animar, minha melhor amiga Sue arranjou-me em um encontro “às cegas” com um amigo expatriado de seu então namorado. Michael era de São Paulo e estava em visita, por algumas semanas. Ele era um empresário americano que construiu sua prórpia vida no exterior. Depois de uma tarde de sushi e saquê, ele corajosamente me convidou para visitá-lo, quando ele voltasse para casa. Eu não estava atraída por ele, mas eu me sentia incapaz de ser amada e solitária. Eu disse-lhe que sim, mas pedi quartos separados. Ele gentilmente concordou e eu me inscrevi para tirar um visto rapidamente, comprei uma passagem de avião escandalosamente cara e comecei uma dieta desesperada. Mas no dia anterior à viagem, eu mudei de idéia. Eu estava com medo de ir pelas razões erradas e não poderia me permitir tirar proveito da generosidade de Michael, não importa quão baixas suas expectativas pudessem ser. Lembro-me de telefonar para ele bem cedo pela manhã, e eu podia ouvir o mundo agitado dos negócios atrás dele. Ele parecia tão feliz em falar comigo e, em seguida, tão triste. Mais tarde naquele dia, eu examinei meu visto brasileiro e me perguntei se eu teria novamente a chance de visitar. Eu não tive, até agora.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2013 by in Americans and tagged , , , , , , , .

Top 10

